janet gurtler

 

friend me follow me

facebook    twitter

teen fire


Visit Teen Fire

janet gurtler


welcome

Fast paced fiction with compelling characters. Honest, intriguing, real.

janet gurtler's 16 things i thought were true
16 THINGS I THOUGHT WERE TRUE
Paperback 304 pages
March 4, 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402277970
(ISBN13: 9781402277979)
how i lost you
HOW I LOST YOU
Paperback, 320 pages
April 23, 2013 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402277946
(ISBN13: 9781402277948)

I'm not her
IF I TELL
Paperback, 256 pages
October 1st 2011 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402261039
(ISBN13: 9781402261039)
who i kissed
WHO I KISSED
Paperback, 320 pages
October 1, 2012 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402270542
(ISBN13: 9781402270543)

I'm not her
I'M NOT HER
Paperback, 320 pages
May 1st 2011 by Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402256361
(ISBN13: 9781402256363)

Praise for WHO I KISSED

"Without excess heavy-handedness, Gurtler weaves a tale of collective responsibility as several teens reflect on their actions that one fateful night. A well-crafted story about a student's fight to feel normal again when a community of peers turns on her." - Booklist

Praise for HOW I LOST YOU

"This is a relatable story about nurturing a friendship, and it's not every day that teens will have the chance to read about paintballing. The lesson that Grace learns is a good one, and the strong female characters are a plus" - School Library Journal

Praise for I'M NOT HER

"Rich in characterization, Gurtler's novel wrestles with some serious issues and explores different means of coping (or escaping) yet manages not to be overwhelming or bleak. Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult, this is a strong debut that attempts to answer the question, What does it really mean to live?" - Booklist

Praise for IF I TELL

"Gurtler unabashedly tackles several sensitive topics without sacrificing the story line and constructs a beautiful paradox by making the burden of carrying a secret the factor that enables Jaz to face her outcast fear. This novel also addresses the pressure students feel to fit in and encourages them to stay true to themselves. Sometimes we just need to hear that it's OK to be different."Booklist

study guides janet gurtler janet gurtler janet gurtler janet gurtler janet gurtler janet gurtler